Report Dutch Biophysics 2017

Dutch Biophysics 2017, on October 2nd and 3rd in de Koningshof Veldhoven, was again a great success. At this conference, co-organized by FOM, ALW, the Netherlands Society for Microscopy and the Society for Biophysics and Biomedical Engineering (BIOPM), it was a well-attended conference with biophysicists, biologists and biomedical engineers gathered and discussing their latest research, in plenary lectures and parallel sessions.

BIOPM sponsored two key prizes: the poster prize and the annual thesis prize.

The Thesis Prize for the best PhD thesis in Biophysics or Biomedical Engineering 2017 was awarded to Ineke Brouwer for her thesis “Probing biological interactions one molecule at a time – An optical tweezers analysis of protein-mediated membrane fusion and DNA repair”. She defended her thesis successfully at the Vrije Universiteit Amsterdam on September 19, 2016.

Thesis award winner 2017:  Ineke Brouwer [Photo: NWO-BioPhysics_2017]

The Poster Prizes for the best posters at the conference were awarded to:

  1. Ewa Spies (Delft University of Technology)
  2. Roderick Tas (Utrecht University)
  3. Anna Meijering (Vrije Universiteit Amsterdam)

By a jury consisting of Lene Oddershede (Niels Bohr Institute Copenhagen), Timon Idema (Delft University of Technology and Iddo Heller (Vrije Universiteit Amsterdam) and a preselection committee (Federica Burla, Kathy Chaurasiya, Tjeerd Pols, Ruddi Rodriguez Garcia, Steven Roeters, Mariska van Rosmalen, and Wilco Zuidema).

Congratulations to the prize winners!

Poster award winners 2017: Roderick Tas (left), Anna Meijering (2nd from left) and Ewa Spies (3rd from left)