Dutch Biophysics 2016

Dutch Biophysics 2016, on October 3rd and 4th in de Koningshof Veldhoven, was a great success. At this conference, co-organized by FOM, ALW, the Netherlands Society for Microscopy and the Society for Biophysics and Biomedical Engineering (BIOPM), about 500 biophysicists, biologists and biomedical engineers gathered and discussed their latest research, in plenary lectures and parallel sessions.

BIOPM sponsored two key prizes: the poster prize and the annual thesis prize.

The Thesis Prize for the best PhD thesis in Biophysics or Biomedical Engineering 2016 was awarded to Gerrit Sitters, for his thesis "Probing the Blueprint of Life: the development and application of novel single-molecule methods". Gerrits successfully defended his thesis at the Vrije Universiteit Amsterdam, December 3rd 2015.

The Poster Prizesfor the best posters at the conference were awarded to:

  1. Agustin Enciso Martinez (Twente University)
  2. Steven Beekmans (Vrije Universiteit Amsterdam)
  3. Pascal de Boer (UMCG)
By a jury consisting of Wouter Roos (chair, RUG), Marloes Groot (VU) and Peter Zijlstra (TUe).
Congratulations to the prize winners!
 Thesis award winner Gerrit Sitters, (left)              [Photo: Bram Lamers]  
 Poster award winners